Why 5G

5G was introduced to provide better operational performance and better user experience. Now, better operational performance indicates increased data rates, increased spectral efficiency and low latency. Better user experience denotes providing full mobility and coverage.

With the advancement in technologies,

  1. Mobile data traffic was rising rapidly.
  2. Every user had multiple devices and growing number of connections.
  3. With advancement in IoT applications, need to increase connection density was intense.
  4. Network operators were under a pressure to reduce cost expenditure.

To solve all the above-mentioned problems, a change in technology was needed. 5G was introduced to cater to all these, however the base communication technology (OFDMA) remained same as in LTE. Following diagram is taken from ETSI website and provides a contrast between IMT-Advanced features and IMT-2020 features (IMT 2020 is explained in post- )-

Published by:

Neha Katyal

I am a research enthusiast, a software developer, a passionate writer and a seeker. From researching on various aspects of software design, to designing and developing 4G/5G algorithms, everything excites me. Besides my inclination towards software, I have a strong interest in spirituality. I am a seeker; learning yoga, meditation, aura cleansing, Vedic astrology, reading Vedic scriptures that can bring me closer to the ultimate truth, are a few things that has formed an integral part of my life. Apart from these, writing, reading fiction and sketching are the places where I find my home. I cannot just pass a bookstore, I cannot come out of a storm until I write a poem, I cannot admire an actor/actress until I sketch their portrait. Yes, I can be called as a 'multipotentialite'. I love to learn a lot, travel, imagine, read, write, draw, design, code, engage in dhyana and yog, serve others, spend time with family. Because, I feel, life is all about learning, falling, rising, feeling, enjoying every moment :-)

Categories 5GLeave a comment

Leave a comment