5G USE CASES

The technologies being developed to support IMT-2020 and beyond are supposed to support following 3 use case categories:-

  1. enhanced Mobile BroadBand (eMBB)
  2. Ultra Reliable and Low Latency Communications (URLLC)
  3. massive Machine Type Communications (mMTC)

eMBB

It deals with very high data rates, high user densities and very high traffic capacity for hotspot scenarios. It also deals with providing seemless experience in high mobility scenarios.

While designing systems for eMBB applications, high importance is given to throughput (both max and avg.), spectral efficiency and traffic capacity of area.

URLLC

It deals with safety critical applications that require low latency and high reliability.

While designing systems for URLLC applications, high importance is given to latency, reliabiltiy and mobility.

mMTC

It caters to IoT applications that require low power consumption, provide low data rates for a very large number of connected devices

While designing systems for mMTC applications, high importance is given to connection density, and some importance is given to energy efficiency also.

Different applications may fall under different use case categories, and some might fall under more than 1 category as well. I’m providing a diagram here, that shows various applications under different categories. This diagram is taken from the book ‘5G-NR-in-Bullets’

Published by:

Neha Katyal

I am a research enthusiast, a software developer, a passionate writer and a seeker. From researching on various aspects of software design, to designing and developing 4G/5G algorithms, everything excites me. Besides my inclination towards software, I have a strong interest in spirituality. I am a seeker; learning yoga, meditation, aura cleansing, Vedic astrology, reading Vedic scriptures that can bring me closer to the ultimate truth, are a few things that has formed an integral part of my life. Apart from these, writing, reading fiction and sketching are the places where I find my home. I cannot just pass a bookstore, I cannot come out of a storm until I write a poem, I cannot admire an actor/actress until I sketch their portrait. Yes, I can be called as a 'multipotentialite'. I love to learn a lot, travel, imagine, read, write, draw, design, code, engage in dhyana and yog, serve others, spend time with family. Because, I feel, life is all about learning, falling, rising, feeling, enjoying every moment :-)

Categories 5GTags , 1 Comment

One thought on “5G USE CASES”

Leave a comment